View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21-07-06, 10:14 AM
StuartC's Avatar
StuartC StuartC is offline
Likes to play his bongo's in the morning
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: somewhere nr. York
Posts: 1,031
StuartC is a snorkellerStuartC is a snorkellerStuartC is a snorkellerStuartC is a snorkellerStuartC is a snorkellerStuartC is a snorkellerStuartC is a snorkellerStuartC is a snorkellerStuartC is a snorkellerStuartC is a snorkellerStuartC is a snorkeller
Spysoftcentral.com Fake "Order Approval Notification" Emails

I got this one in my home e-mail today and was v. suspicious for the following reasons:
1) hadn't bought anything online this week
2) message text wasn't addressed to me personally - normally would contain my details if I'd made an online purchase
3) I'd never dream of spending £80 on utility software!, especially if it's for a 3 month subscription....

but maybe that's their intention - pique your interest and get you to open the enclosed .zip attachment....

so, a quick google didn't find much except for this link, which shows the message in its entirety and confirmed my suspicions that the attachment was some kind of trojan that the message was trying to get me to run.

Looking at the date of the article this is a brand new one, so your a/v may not protect you.

The supposed originator of the mail is a bit of a dodgy software purveyor that purportedly sells anti-spyware software, but is most likely actually charging you to install their spyware software!

Usual safe e-mail practices apply - be suspicious of anything you weren't expecting, not addressed to you personally, or containing an attachment they encourage you to open....

be careful out there...t'internet is dirty and nasty (except for YD )
__________________
Spike Milligan's SCUBA rules:

"If you never have a plan, nothing can ever go wrong"
Reply With Quote