| | |||||||
|
Welcome to the YD Scuba forums. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, articles and access our other FREE features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own photos and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact support. |
| Non Diving Posts: Discuss Premium rate call scam -2! in the Non-Diving Related Forums forums: I have just viewed our latest One-Tel (Carphone Warehouse) bill. It shows a call made to 08448006020 on 6th April ... |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| ||||
| Premium rate call scam -2! I have just viewed our latest One-Tel (Carphone Warehouse) bill. It shows a call made to 08448006020 on 6th April 2008 @ 16:14:12hrs and the call duration was 32 seconds. We made NO such call, but we have been charged £1.82 plus VAT for this call. This comes three days after receiving an unwanted marketing call that originated in the USA and that I commented on here:- Latest telephone scam! No-one seems to want to admit that these scams exist but the phone company have offered a one off refund to be credited to next months bill. However, they say that the only way to stop this, is to have premium rate call barring for which they charge you £1.50 + VAT per month for! - why should WE pay to not make calls, and also we may never get another call like this again - seems like the phone companies want to profit from this as much as the scammers!
__________________ Of course I am blind - I am a cameraman!! www.printwarestudio.co.uk Official supplier of YD mugs. We also produce mousemats, name-badges, emergency contact tags, clocks, teapot-stands coasters etc from your own logo/photo/artwork |
| ||||
| Quote:
How can this be? Re: barring premium rate numbers, if this was an option offered by Virgin, it would have been pointless as their support line was premium rate - they've just stopped that little money spinner though. r P
__________________ Baldrick: I did C. Blackadder: Let's have it then. Baldrick: "Big blue wobbly thing that mermaids live in." C. Aquanauts Ocean-Explorers |
| ||||
| That phone number appears to be a Packard-Bell customer support number.... 08448006020 - Google Search Last edited by steve6690 : 28-04-08 at 11:08 AM. Reason: added link |
| ||||
| Quote:
Well interestingly another search engine brings up a supposed site for "The Tech Guys" but if you go there, umpteen popups appear that can not be shut down without resorting to ctrl, alt, delete and shutting the browser down.....
__________________ Of course I am blind - I am a cameraman!! www.printwarestudio.co.uk Official supplier of YD mugs. We also produce mousemats, name-badges, emergency contact tags, clocks, teapot-stands coasters etc from your own logo/photo/artwork |
| ||||
| BBC's Watchdog might be interested in that one..
__________________ Wilbo. |
| ||||
| http://support.thetechguys.com/ looks like the telephone number itself is genuine. On the home page click on "for a list of our contact telephone numbers..." Last edited by steve6690 : 28-04-08 at 12:18 PM. |
| ||||
| Yes - that number is a genuine Tech Guys number Quote:
No popups or anything odd experienced when i went on this site either. So the pop-ups thing looks to a diffferent issue. Do you (Simon) have a PC or other kit bought from PC World, Currys, or the Tech Guys? What's also odd is that 0844 numbers should cost somewhere in the region of 2p to 5p per minute so I can't understand how the charge of £1.82 for 32 seconds can be right?? What does your tariff say the charge is to an 0844 number?
__________________ Support the RNLI - Chris Hall Tribute Fund - Ocean Defenders - Save the Albatross |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |
| | ||