Yorkshire Divers

Deep Blue Technical
Go Back   YD Scuba Diving Forums & Community > Non-Diving Related Forums > Technology
User Name
Password

Welcome to the YD Scuba forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, articles and access our other FREE features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own photos and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact support.

Technology: Discuss Someone's got a virus me thinks in the Non-Diving Related Forums forums: Hi I have a hotmail address that I only use for diving related stuff. I have, until last week, never ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 31-01-05, 05:24 PM
Conor's Avatar
Conor Conor is offline
Ginger, Irish, sometimes stroppy
 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Royston (Herts)
Posts: 5,994
Conor swims in cold waterConor swims in cold waterConor swims in cold waterConor swims in cold waterConor swims in cold waterConor swims in cold waterConor swims in cold waterConor swims in cold waterConor swims in cold waterConor swims in cold waterConor swims in cold water
Someones got a virus methinks

Hi

I have a hotmail address that I only use for diving related stuff. I have, until last week, never had any spam sent to it. But it looks like my address is being spoofed as I keep getting delivery failure notices from addresses I have never used.

The addresses that are sending the bounce are diving related (nauiww.org and beaversports.com) so it suggests that someone in the diving world has my address, these addresses and a virus.

So if you happen to hvae my hotmail addy in your address book, you may want to do a little virus check

Conor
__________________
“Did I leave the gas on? No! No, I'm a f***in' squirrel!”

Mr E Izzard
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 31-01-05, 05:30 PM
Special K's Avatar
Special K Special K is offline
Resident Specialist in Late-night Convos after a few Sherries
 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: York-where men average 10 minutes
Posts: 401
Special K dips toes in sea annuallySpecial K dips toes in sea annuallySpecial K dips toes in sea annuallySpecial K dips toes in sea annuallySpecial K dips toes in sea annuallySpecial K dips toes in sea annuallySpecial K dips toes in sea annuallySpecial K dips toes in sea annuallySpecial K dips toes in sea annuallySpecial K dips toes in sea annuallySpecial K dips toes in sea annually
Likewise mine too
__________________
`there`s nothing funny about rape, unless you`re raping a clown...`
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 31-01-05, 05:31 PM
Jules's Avatar
Jules Jules is offline
Small, yet perfectly formed...
 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Huddersfield
Posts: 3,002
Jules is a scuba diver - cold waterJules is a scuba diver - cold waterJules is a scuba diver - cold waterJules is a scuba diver - cold waterJules is a scuba diver - cold waterJules is a scuba diver - cold waterJules is a scuba diver - cold waterJules is a scuba diver - cold waterJules is a scuba diver - cold waterJules is a scuba diver - cold waterJules is a scuba diver - cold water
I get a few of those too. Replies bouncing emails you never sent. odd
__________________
Living a charmed life

Where shall we go next???
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 31-01-05, 05:33 PM
Conor's Avatar
Conor Conor is offline
Ginger, Irish, sometimes stroppy
 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Royston (Herts)
Posts: 5,994
Conor swims in cold waterConor swims in cold waterConor swims in cold waterConor swims in cold waterConor swims in cold waterConor swims in cold waterConor swims in cold waterConor swims in cold waterConor swims in cold waterConor swims in cold waterConor swims in cold water
Apparently its when a 3rd party has your address and the bounce address in their address book. The virus then send mails to people in their address book using your mail as the sender.....the thinking being that there is a good chance that the other person knows you as well so you may open the mail and propagate the virus. Also, by not showing who has the infection the virus can live a lot longer on that machine.

__________________
“Did I leave the gas on? No! No, I'm a f***in' squirrel!”

Mr E Izzard
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 31-01-05, 05:42 PM
resting rifleman's Avatar
resting rifleman resting rifleman is offline
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: swanage dorset
Posts: 2,405
resting rifleman is a snorkellerresting rifleman is a snorkellerresting rifleman is a snorkellerresting rifleman is a snorkellerresting rifleman is a snorkellerresting rifleman is a snorkellerresting rifleman is a snorkellerresting rifleman is a snorkellerresting rifleman is a snorkellerresting rifleman is a snorkellerresting rifleman is a snorkeller
had one or two of these and posted about it some time back, hasnt happened since i got xp and broadband (fingers crossed)
__________________
mike marsh
swift and bold.
sports and tech courses:
http://www.mikepottsdiving.co.uk/index.html
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



Sponsored Links

Yorkshire Divers - RSS Feed
All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:09 AM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC6
Trademark and all rights reserved : © YD.com Ltd (2006)
YD.com Ltd (Registered in England - 05886696)
Other sites : Golf Clubs | New Premiership Football Kits | MP3 Portable Players | MP3 Players For Sale | Replica Football Kits

Forums Directory