| | |||||||
|
Welcome to the YD Scuba forums. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, articles and access our other FREE features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own photos and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact support. |
| Technology: Discuss Virus Warnings Thread. in the Non-Diving Related Forums forums: It could be me....... I doubt it though I'm not sure but think my email account may have been hacked ... |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| ||||
| Imported post It could be me....... I doubt it though I'm not sure but think my email account may have been hacked - nice eh? The reason I say this is that on my webserver I found </span> Quote:
Now I've not sent that email.... Also it has a .bat (batch) file and .eml (possible email worm) which I've not opened or downloaded - if anyone wants to be nice enough to check them I'll foward it ;) as downloading to home I don't fancy nor to a corporate server (midden hitting the windmill comes to mind) Please note - if you have received anything from my driftwood@bitsmart.com Netfoward account in the last 10 days please let me know as I've not sent it! Enquires are continuing as if this has gone to you guys then it is likely to have been a deliberate attack by someone with our email addresses. |
| ||||
| Imported post Possible Peter but I don't recognise the cdman_1@hotmail.com addie..... Besides, the attachments were entitled "~$rench coursework" which I'm useless at.... Wanna see? |
| |||
| Imported post Drifty Send it to me at andrew@kasian.force9.co.uk, I'll have a look at the servers its been through and see if we can't find who's account sent it out! |
| ||||
| Imported post Cheers Andy, It's on it's way so look out for a Fwd: Undeliverable Mail Returned to sender........ Should have 2 attachments. Ta |
| ||||
| Imported post Sorry all but I'm fairly sure the source of the recent outbreak although I'm yet to trace the virus on my home computer. If you have received anything from me recently either from driftwood@bitsmart.com or driftwood@bitsmart4.freeserve.co.uk Delete it! (Bill you're safe as I've emailled you about the DR from the webmail server direct, hence the funny email addie) Then either go to Symantec or NAI and look up the W32/Yaha.g@MM worm. Apologies to all hit by this, I'm buggered as to know where it came from or how it got around McAfee as I'm normally fairly good at spotting the rogues. I may be wrong though as I've only seen it on the webserver prior to downloading so it may only be one I've been sent but better safe than sorry..... Cheers to Andy W for the analysis. |
| ||||
| Imported post Hi Drift! Sorry to hear about the virus problem mate - hope its all sorted now. Reading your posts and the other posts below concerning viruses made me think - Yahoo was involved, French course work?? Now this may mean nothing at all, but, on 6 November a French student, named Julie, with the screen name ladybirdho@yahoo.fr posted a request on the site, asking members to go to www.bondihotel****** and complete the questionnaire. John Gulliver was unable to access the site, and Hobby was denied access to the site by (as he aptly put it) the college web nanny on the grounds that the site was BLOCKED. Steve W also could not access the site. Don't know if this is any use to you, but the mention of Yahoo and french coursework got the grey matter stirring! Cheers John |
| ||||
| Imported post Might be right. I filled that form in and was one of the people who recieved one of the bugged mails. Peter |
| ||||
| Imported post Ahh,Ladybird, i had one of those as well, French coursework, although several letters were changed. Maybe i'll have to stop being helpfull on questionares. Got me in some trouble with our IT Dragon Lady, she has been breathing flames down my neck all day following that. But then again i'm used to being in the c**p for things i've done wrong on my PC. Sofos picked it up. Regards Paul |
| |||
| Imported post Sorry but the questionaire on the http://www.bondihotel****** link is not responsible for this. The virus works out of an outlook/outlook express type of address book. Having looked at the page and completed the questionaire, you are never asked for your email address. Drifty will have had an infected email sent at some stage, the virus mutates in that it changes the header in the message when it is re-sent. Sorry |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |
| | ||