Yorkshire Divers

Deep Blue Technical
Go Back   YD Scuba Diving Forums & Community > Non-Diving Related Forums > Technology
User Name
Password

Welcome to the YD Scuba forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, articles and access our other FREE features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own photos and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact support.

Technology: Discuss Virus Warnings Thread. in the Non-Diving Related Forums forums: My Yahoo account has just picked up a virus from YD Admin. The title was "ourse . The virus ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25-12-02, 08:52 PM
peter k's Avatar
peter k peter k is offline
Banned
 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: In a bottle somewhere, anywhere, not fussed...
Posts: 1,844
peter k thought this was Handbag.net
Virus Warnings Thread.

My Yahoo account has just picked up a virus from YD Admin.
The title was "ourse . The virus was called w32Yaha.F@MM
Don't open the attachment up. This is where the bug is>
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25-12-02, 11:58 PM
Jay's Avatar
Jay Jay is offline
Giggety Giggety
 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Posts: 5,038
Jay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm water
Imported post

Thanks Peter - this is an automatic virus that picked up on our admin email and propogated itself through my address book. Many apologies for this - I have just re-run my virus checker and (hopefully) eraditicated it. Please let us know if this occurs again.

Regards

(Edited by Heads Up at 12:19 am on Dec. 26, 2002)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26-12-02, 09:49 AM
Jay's Avatar
Jay Jay is offline
Giggety Giggety
 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Posts: 5,038
Jay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm water
Imported post

Been thinking a bit about this Peter - was the email from admin@yorkshire-divers.co.uk?

If so, then is address in your contact list?

My home PC is clean (tested the f**ker till 4am this morning!!) and the web server doesn't have an address book. The above email address is strictly used by the server so am wondering if the virus is on someone elses machine?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26-12-02, 11:07 AM
Jay's Avatar
Jay Jay is offline
Giggety Giggety
 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Posts: 5,038
Jay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm water
Imported post

Right - definitely NOT on any of my home machines and although I have notified my hosting company, the chance is that the virus is on one of our members' home machines and is sending emails to all others in his contact list. Can you all please scan your machines to make sure you are not infected.

Synaptic have provided a scan and removal tool HERE

Alternatively, McAfee will do a free online system scan HERE

Regards
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26-12-02, 12:57 PM
Davey Willo's Avatar
Davey Willo Davey Willo is offline
"Arise....Sir 'Pukealot'"
 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ingleby Barwick - Stockton
Posts: 1,786
Davey Willo paddles in the seaDavey Willo paddles in the seaDavey Willo paddles in the seaDavey Willo paddles in the seaDavey Willo paddles in the seaDavey Willo paddles in the seaDavey Willo paddles in the seaDavey Willo paddles in the seaDavey Willo paddles in the seaDavey Willo paddles in the seaDavey Willo paddles in the sea
Imported post

My software caught this virus incoming to my PC twice yesterday, but it just deletes the e-mail so I don't know where it came from I'm afraid... done a full system scan and I'm not infected.. Thank God for Norton Internet Security 2003 :biggrin:
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26-12-02, 01:20 PM
Jay's Avatar
Jay Jay is offline
Giggety Giggety
 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Posts: 5,038
Jay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm waterJay is a scuba diver - warm water
Imported post

OK - not on the YD server either (its UNIX and is unaffected by the virus) so it looks like it is on one of the YD members' machines - specifically someone who has Peter K, Andy2tanx and Dave Williamson but NOT me in their Microsoft address book (I have not received the email). If this sounds like you then please disinfect as per links above.

Good news though is that it has nothing to do with YD!!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 26-12-02, 01:48 PM
Andy Winterburn Andy Winterburn is offline
Killed in the line of Duty. RIP.
 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Leeds
Posts: 173
Andy Winterburn dips toes in sea annuallyAndy Winterburn dips toes in sea annuallyAndy Winterburn dips toes in sea annuallyAndy Winterburn dips toes in sea annuallyAndy Winterburn dips toes in sea annuallyAndy Winterburn dips toes in sea annuallyAndy Winterburn dips toes in sea annuallyAndy Winterburn dips toes in sea annuallyAndy Winterburn dips toes in sea annuallyAndy Winterburn dips toes in sea annuallyAndy Winterburn dips toes in sea annually
Imported post

On the other hand Jay, it could have been some-one from Divernet or any other newsgroup on which Peter has posted, using the address of YD to post out viruses.
Peter if you tried to send as a return what address is shown?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 26-12-02, 03:29 PM
Big Steph Big Steph is offline
New Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 104
Big Steph saw the sea in a book once
Imported post

Peter, I had this virus as well.  I have contacted people I have e-mailed recently and some of them had a trojan virus.  All machines have been cleaned.  

Cheers
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 26-12-02, 08:04 PM
Andy Phillips's Avatar
Andy Phillips Andy Phillips is offline
Grumbler-chief in Residence
 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Bucks
Posts: 1,968
Andy Phillips paddles in the seaAndy Phillips paddles in the seaAndy Phillips paddles in the seaAndy Phillips paddles in the seaAndy Phillips paddles in the seaAndy Phillips paddles in the seaAndy Phillips paddles in the seaAndy Phillips paddles in the seaAndy Phillips paddles in the seaAndy Phillips paddles in the seaAndy Phillips paddles in the sea
Imported post

Hi,

I've got a feeling it is Divernet, and seems to use an attached pc to bounce through to someone who's post you are looking at. I seem to have sent it to a guy called budgy, but it came from an old e-mail address I now only use on Divernet.

My machine is brand new and clean, I scanned it anyway and it is clean.

Curious huh
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 26-12-02, 10:10 PM
budgy's Avatar
budgy budgy is offline
New Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Scotland
Posts: 186
budgy can find the seaside on a mapbudgy can find the seaside on a mapbudgy can find the seaside on a map
Imported post

I don't download e'mail attachments any more without first writing to the sender to check.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



Sponsored Links

Yorkshire Divers - RSS Feed
All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:13 AM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC6
Trademark and all rights reserved : © YD.com Ltd (2006)
YD.com Ltd (Registered in England - 05886696)
Other sites : Golf Clubs | New Premiership Football Kits | MP3 Portable Players | MP3 Players For Sale | Replica Football Kits

Forums Directory