| | |||||||
|
Welcome to the YD Scuba forums. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, articles and access our other FREE features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own photos and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact support. |
| Technology: Discuss Spysoftcentral.com Fake "Order Approval Notification" Emails in the Non-Diving Related Forums forums: I got this one in my home e-mail today and was v. suspicious for the following reasons: 1) hadn'... |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| ||||
| Spysoftcentral.com Fake "Order Approval Notification" Emails I got this one in my home e-mail today and was v. suspicious for the following reasons: 1) hadn't bought anything online this week 2) message text wasn't addressed to me personally - normally would contain my details if I'd made an online purchase 3) I'd never dream of spending £80 on utility software!, especially if it's for a 3 month subscription.... but maybe that's their intention - pique your interest and get you to open the enclosed .zip attachment.... so, a quick google didn't find much except for this link, which shows the message in its entirety and confirmed my suspicions that the attachment was some kind of trojan that the message was trying to get me to run. Looking at the date of the article this is a brand new one, so your a/v may not protect you. The supposed originator of the mail is a bit of a dodgy software purveyor that purportedly sells anti-spyware software, but is most likely actually charging you to install their spyware software! Usual safe e-mail practices apply - be suspicious of anything you weren't expecting, not addressed to you personally, or containing an attachment they encourage you to open.... be careful out there...t'internet is dirty and nasty (except for YD )
__________________ Spike Milligan's SCUBA rules: "If you never have a plan, nothing can ever go wrong" |
| ||||
| Quote:
I normally run searches on sophos.com or symantec.com to find out for sure. I got a virus from YD not so long ago.... Firewall stopped it though. It was embedded in an avatar picture
__________________ Ian |
| ||||
| Quote:
Sean
__________________ He who asks a question is foolish for 5 minutes.. He who doesn’t is foolish for the rest of his life http://www.yorkshire-divers.co.uk |
| ||||
| I use a program called Mailwasher this looks to see if a sender is spamming etc from a free service called SpamCop and marks the mail to be deleted on the mail server, this way you never have to down load the cr%p sent to your mailbox and it help prevent viruses....... Ron |
| ||||
| thanks Ron, will have a look at that. I'm still using Freeserve/Wanadoo/Orange for e-mail as I can't be hassled changing my mail address, and their spam filter is pretty accurate. I routinely check the webmail view first and tidy up any items before downloading to Outlook, so most of the crap never gets near the PC anyway.
__________________ Spike Milligan's SCUBA rules: "If you never have a plan, nothing can ever go wrong" |
| ||||
| I got a load of those this morning. My spamfilter (popfile) handled them rather well.
__________________ Currently attired in Seaskin's finest www.kitfondle.co.uk Kit That Makes Brave Men Weep www.nusac.info A rather brilliant place to dive |
| ||||
| Quote:
its very good. just disable the 'auto bounce' facility.. poor idea..
__________________ Wilbo. |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |
| | ||