View Full Version : Salient points on Bombers (for Londoners) and explosives..

Alan
21-07-05, 09:40 PM
I havent really introduced myself on the site before, but my name is Alan, and I have had some experience of bombs (and diving, but can get to that later). I originate from Omagh, Co. Tyrone which had about 8 bomb attacks in my time there, the worst being the last which killed friends and neighbours of mine.

I also served in the army like my father (also a keen diver). I have some experience of this type of situation and would like to share my knowledge with my fellow divers (specifically London based divers like myself).

Don't panic. The people we are dealing with are making the explosives themselves, which is a plus point. Its unstable, and in cases like today, its probably not been good enough to react with the detonator.

It looks to me like it was the same cell, since they had detonators, which are harder to come by than explosives! Serious terrorists (who know what they are doing), mix high grade explosives with home made to have a better chance of a catastrophe.

They arent that switched on either but I will not say why, no need to educate the ignorant on their deadly purposes.

Their main form of attack is not the bombs but fear, do not give into it. These guys are amateurs and can easily be spotted. I have asked on several occassions for people on a crowded train to indentify a bag before. Don't be afraid to do the same.

Thats all it takes. Bombs on the underground require timers and cannot be set off remote controlled. Which means they cannot be blocked. Which means your own vigilance is key to protecting yourself.

Home made bombs are usually quite bulky, and as we know the ruck sack is the delivery method of choice. Your not a racist if you ask someone of a Pakinstani orgin whats in their bag!

Remember don't give into the fear. Also remember that a bomb scare can just be a ruse for a more catastrophic attack.