YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Just not enough dive time.
9,135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just been out and bought 5l of Mobil 1 (bike needs an oil change) it cost £40, it was £48 in the local petrol station. Someone surely is ripping us off, when I asked why so much? I was told that the oil price had rissen (no sh1t - I work in the oil industry) but Mobil 1 is 100% synthetic oil - so how comes that's gone up too??

Matt

·
Mad as a Haddock
2,206 Posts
I had my car serviced last week, oil was 40quid, but then it only needs changing every 20000 miles.

·
Registered
4,456 Posts
You could always put cheaper oil in your bike!

Mobil 1 has always been the premier oil for performance vehicles and has always been expensive, Castrol R smells better though :)

Davie.

·
I went DIR... but my bungies pulled me back!
400 Posts
I hope you got the bike version of Mobil 1 and not the regular car stuff, they are very different and the car stuff wont do a very good job in a bike engine.

·
Exiled in Scotland...
6,286 Posts
I agree that oil is expensive which is why I buy it in large quantities to save money.

I spotted a guy in a BP station last years who was buying a litre to top his Diesel car up and told him to save his money. I gave him a litre from container I keep i the car. I recon it cost me a couple of quid but saved his 13 pounds.

·
9,135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I hope you got the bike version of Mobil 1 and not the regular car stuff, they are very different and the car stuff wont do a very good job in a bike engine.
Darren
thanks for the warning, however from the T595 site

Mobil 1 for cars V's Mobil 1 4T for bikes.

Started another thread but here it is anyway, response from Mobil:

"I can confirm that we have only the one formulation for the SAE 15W-50
Mobil 1 grade & this is sold as both Mobil 1 Motorsport & Mobil 1 Racing
4T.

Therefore, both can safely be used in either a car or motorcycle
application.

Regards
Fred Wells