YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,755 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Imported post

<font color='#000F22'>As a couple of you know I'm thinking about moving to twin 300 7s, therefore would like some advice about whether my regs would be OK at 300 bar and if so where and how much I should expect to pay to have them converted over to DIN. At present I have a scubapro Mk16 R380 and Mk2 R190 (pony reg) both only a couple of years old.

Any thoughts?  
 

·
"hardly ever here"
Joined
·
799 Posts
Imported post

obviously can't help you myself mary, but thought i'd post to make this thread look more popular and get more people looking  


if nothing turns up here, first stage diving is a scubapro registered dealer in nottingham, you could give them a call:

First Stage Diving
(showroom dealer)
1A Kirk Lane, Ruddington
Nottingham
NG11 6NN
Contact : Tessa
Tel : 0115 9844759Fax : 0115 984 4756
Email : [email protected]
Website : www.firststage.co.uk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,736 Posts
Imported post

<font color='#32CD32'>Don't know about your set, but my girlfriend had her A-clamp Apeks changed to Din - cost £25.

Good Luck

Juz
 

·
Just not enough dive time.
Joined
·
9,135 Posts
Imported post

Had my Oceanic SP4 converted £35 (in Luton - Deep Dive) but left the pony as A clamp, cos I'm tight, not really but it would have meant 4 regs and then getting my DSMB converted too.
The regs are all 300 capable just the clamps are not, I think all regs are these days as it makes manufacture easier to produce one body rating. Suggest you check with the manufacturer though.

Matt
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,755 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Imported post

[b said:
Quote[/b] (Kate R @ Nov. 20 2003,16:03)]obviously can't help you myself mary, but thought i'd post to make this thread look more popular and get more people looking  
<font color='#000F22'>cheers, my other name is billy no mates  
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
293 Posts
Imported post

Just to let you know the Scubapro MK16 is rated for 300 Bar Din I know cause I asked Scubapro this very same question a while back.
Not sure about the second stages though.
 

·
Duvet Diver
Joined
·
1,862 Posts
Imported post

[b said:
Quote[/b] (Mandlebrot @ Dec. 08 2003,01:59)]Just to let you know the Scubapro MK16 is rated for 300 Bar Din I know cause I asked Scubapro this very same question a while back.
Not sure about the second stages though.
Er, the second stage should be irelivent, a properly designed first stage should supply as near as damn it the same pressure from 300 bar as from 232 bar.
In fact, if I remember my regulator theory well enough, a higher input pressure to a first stage should actualy deliver a lower pressure to the second stage.

====Disclaimer Time====
Please note: I have not delt with regulator theory and Inversion ratio's for some time. So please check the validity of the above statements before relying upon them.
====End Disclaimer=====

Simon A
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
61 Posts
Imported post

I was told a while back that it would cost about £50 to convert a Scubapro MK25 from A-Clamp to DIN, this was about £40 for the part and £10 for Labour.
 

·
That's Members Representative to you!
Joined
·
2,416 Posts
Imported post

Just done my Apeks DS4 - the DIN section is about £24 from SDS. You just unbolt the a clamp, and screw in the DIN fitting with an Allen key. Then remove all the A-Clamp inserts from your cylinders. Make sure your cylinders have the removable insert!
 

·
Resident 'Jawling Man' and 'Graunching Specialist'
Joined
·
938 Posts
Imported post

On 300 bar cylinders there is no insert to remove - this is to ensure that A clamp regs are not put on 300 bar cylinders.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16,363 Posts
Imported post

Mary, if you can get the part, we can convert it in minutes. If I can't do it (which I'm fairly sure I can, unless scubapros are a nightmare) Tom can probably do it, and if not Pete will do it for free almost certainly.

I've got all these DIN MK2s, which are all 232 fitting, so make sure the MK2 can do it. I'd say it might be time to get a new reg. 300bar can do some funny things to dive gear. Like making my gauge go pop.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,755 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
Imported post

<font color='#000F22'>no, I'm keeping the mk2 just as a pony reg but you know how bulky the a-clamps are on them, don't want to make one of those mk2 you've got knocking around an a-clamp and then I can have the din bit do you?

the mk16 will also need doing but I'm going to have to track down the right bit, i'll then use a cyclon for the other reg on my twins (if and ever I get them especially seeing what the plumber has just charger me).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16,363 Posts
Imported post

OK. I'll trade. But I want some lp plugs into the deal. at least 2.

I can't believe I'm about to trade an A-clamp for a DIN. This is very silly, but it has to happen. I can't find a 3/4 BSP DIN valve cheap anywhere.

I might well be selling the twins come the summer, especially if I go off somewhere hot. I'll need the money, and I won't need the tanks!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,755 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
Imported post

[b said:
Quote[/b] (Digger @ Dec. 08 2003,16:22)]I might well be selling the twins come the summer, especially if I go off somewhere hot. I'll need the money, and I won't need the tanks!
<font color='#000F22'>ohh you're just teasing me now!
 
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
Top