YD Scuba Diving Forums banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Extracting the Urine
4,056 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Could any of you IT guys tell me what to look for in a new laptop I mainly use it as a desktop replacement it does go to work now and again so size not much of an issue. I want it fast as a fast thing plenty of disk space both ram and hard drive ( i do have external too). I'd love a macbook pro but i use some programs for equipment thats windows only and apparently don't run properly on a windows mac ( using rs 232 and rs485 conversions etc) so what the best buy? I've been using a hp pavilion for a few years now and it's been great apart from the power plug pin inside snapped (love the magpower idea on macs) and it's running slow as f*ck now despite cleaning it up etc. So i'd by another hp and i've also looked at sony toshiba and dell any recommends and where to buy from much appreciated

·
Registered
947 Posts
Rock

Rock Direct

I have an Extreme CTX Pro and it's awsome. The entry level one with 2gig of RAM and a GeForce 7950 GTX (512mb) & HD WUXGA screen. A great desktop replacement.

Cheers,

Mark.

·
Sponsored by The Betty Ford Clinic and Prozac
4,501 Posts
MacBook Pro - You can run Windows *natively* on the new Intel based Macs by using Bootcamp (free to download from Apple), so therefore *no* compatibility issues.

Take the recent Microsoft executives advice and buy a Mac...

***Just found the mail***

Jim Allchin's Mac message: The full text

·
Extracting the Urine
4,056 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Office sometimes but it goes on site etc this hp one has been fine doing it for 4 years apart from the dodgy power connection. Generally when it goes on site the site is complete just before handover etc, although i have hopefully just won a contract on the rigs and have no clue whatsoever what it's like on them until i do the course next month.

·
Extracting the Urine
4,056 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·