YD Scuba Diving Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a UK D8R torch which stopped working at the weekend. By process of elimination (i.e. the battery was charged and the bulbs had not blown) I put it down to being an issue with the piece that holds the bulbs and rests on the battery......you may have guessed I am not too technical.

Anyway, I decided to unscrew this bit and 8 tiny little bits of lead (I assume they are lead) dropped out, when I re-assembled it (minus the loose lead) the torch started working!

Does anyone know, before I go in the water with it, whether these bits of lead have a purpose?

I look forward to your replies!

·
Mad as a Haddock
2,206 Posts
It's not lead, they are there to absorb the gases given out when the battery is discharging, from memory they look like Zippo flints. You should put them back, I don't think they would stop the tourch working, probably just a bad connection.

ttfn
MM

·
Registered
12,795 Posts
Jo,

Did you unscrew and then fix the battery contact springs as part of this process? If so, it was probably tightening up of the spring screws that fixed the problem. A common fault. Mine does the same from time to time.

Adrian

·
Just not enough dive time.
9,135 Posts
What he said, I think also they are suppoosed to absorb any gas given off if the torch leaks water slightly as the gases become explosive.

The contacts bit (and I am being technical) is hopeless, it relies on friction etc to maintain contact betweeen the torch terminals and teh bulb contacts in the bulb holder part. The little silvery things arent soldered to the battery at all, its very easy for that black part to move slightly off and ruin the contact path. Do you have a big spring attached to teh back of your battery pack.