YD Scuba Diving Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
The Artist formerly known as 'Kirky'
2,228 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Imported post

Am planning to go to Stoney next Friday but have picked up one of those `summer head colds`. Sinuses completely blocked. Ive tied vicks sinex, oil of olbas, Pseudafed, large donner with hottest chilli sauce - all to no avail.

Off to the doctors tomorrow for some antibiotics as a last resort. Assuming they succeed, I will still be finishing the course so am planning to dive whilst using them (nitrox 32)

Is this safe
, am I nuts
any experience, info or help would be appreciated. This happened to me in the maldives and the doc there said wait 2 days but finish the course

Thanks

·
Registered
12,240 Posts
Imported post

Sorry Kirky mate,

No amount of antibiotics (or any other prescription drug) will ever cure me of diving!  

·
Just not enough dive time.
9,135 Posts
Imported post

I am no Doctor but I thought that a common cold could not be cured by antibiotics and that they were given just to ward off secondary infection. Scubadoc might be able to help though.

Matt

·
Registered
163 Posts
Imported post

01224 681818, ask for duty hyperbaric doctor, ask the consultant you then speak to.
Easy eh ?

·
Registered
13,519 Posts
Imported post

<font color='#0000FF'>Kirky your nuts
, I would rather have a cold than dive Stoney.  If I had to dive Stoney I would be looking for any excuse.

·
Registered
3,914 Posts
Imported post

<font color='#0000FF'>First thing is, is it a real "cold" or is it rhinitis ? i.e. inflammation of the nasal and sinus membranes?
Probably the latter, as a real cold  will have you cattle-trucked and you wouldn't want to dive, unless its still developing.
The common cold is caused by a (corona) virus, if the GP gives you ABs it'll only be as a placebo and he shouldn't even be doing that (AB resistance etc, bad news on an international scale)