YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Imported post

Okay, here's one for the bods on here....

If a BCD is quoted as having 18Kg (39.6lbs) lift capacity, what is the maximum size of cylinder you can use in association with this and how do you calculate it?

Ta

·
Registered
1,121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Imported post

Sorry, I wasn't terribly clear about this. The reason for the question is because I'm thinking of getting a BCD which I can run twinsets on i.e. at the start of the dive I will possibly either be negatively bouyant and/or have no ditchable weight.
You need to be able to support yourself on the surface using only one source of bouyancy and in my case (assuming drysuit failure) it would be the BCD.

It will be dependant on tank weight mainly (the human body and bcd are generally neutrally bouyant) and I have no experience with twinsets. So if I wanted to twin my 15's (perish the thought) what sort of capacity will I need?

My current bcd (Mares Vector Chrome) does not state capacity but does state maximum permissible tank sizes - 1*20l or 2*10l - whereas the bcd's I'm currently looking at have Kg's quoted....

I know the DIR gurus fave Halcyon recommend 55lb wing for twinsets in drysuits and UK waters - do I need that sort of figure?

Either way, I'm after a rough guess from someone who has tried it I guess....

Okay... Tried something - according to

http://www.subaqua.co.uk/cgi-bin/cylinder-buoyancy.cgi

with my 15l tank I get

quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Using Archimedes principle, buoyancy is equal to the weight of the displaced water minus the weight of the cylinder.

The cylinder is made of 16.8 kg of steel, (which has a density of 7.8 kg/litre).
The steel therefore has a volume of 16.8 / 7.8 = 2.15 litres, so the total volume is 15 + 2.15 = 17.15 litres.