YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,658 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, both my wife and I celebrate our 40th this year, and she has decided she'd like a camera as her present - she uses both mine and our sons compact cameras, but really wants one of her own that she can use, and hopefully let me have a play too once in a while! This is totally a camera for above water (seeing as I've packed in diving).
The one model she's seen she like is the Fuji Finepix S5600 (further details are here) - anyone have one/used one, or alternatively recommend a similar camera?
Thanks in advance
Martin

·
Registered
4,039 Posts
Hi Martin, whilst I have no experience of the S5600 myself, a quick look on Digital Camera Reviews and News: Digital Photography Review: Forums, Glossary, FAQ I can see it's nearly 2years old now. Whether this bears a difference to what decision you make (i.e. cost) I don't know.
I also notice that it only has a small (by todays standards) LCD screen of 1.8". Again, that's personal preference. I use the eyepiece wherever possible, in fact I have no choice now as I use a 400D dSLR.

Anyway, there is a lot of info on that site I posted.

·
Registered
147 Posts
S5600

Hi Martin.

As said, the S5600 is a couple of years old now, but is still a great camera. It is one I have and still use.

Although not a full D-SLR it still allows plenty of manual input as well as working as a point and click camera on auto, plus it has a 10x optical zoom.

If you want to see some results from this camera check out the gallery at MyFuji

Also the forum on there can offer some good advice from users of this and other Fuji cameras.

I can still recommend it despite its age. This image is one of mine taken with the S5600.

I also had no trouble getting this image printed to A2 size with absolutely no loss of quality, straight from the camera.

HTH

Mark

·
Registered
1,658 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks guys/girls.