YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
3,569 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Check my result please?

I'm not very good with figures and I've not done any kind of course on the subject but I was trying to bend my head round this today. I think that if I have a full (232bar) 12 litre cylinder filled with a 60% nitrox mix and I decant that into an empty 24 litre twin set so that the pressure across all three cylinders is the same and I then disconnect the single 12 and top up the twin set with air to 232 bar I should have a 33.88% nitrox mix in the twins.

Is this correct? If not, where am I going wrong?

I figure that the three cylinders will equalise at 77 Bar of which 60% is O2 i.e. 46.2 bar. I then top up with 155 Bar of air of which 20.9 % is O2 i.e. 32.39 bar so I have 232 bar of gas of which 32.39 bar plus 46.2 bar of which is O2, so that's 78.59 bar out of 232 bar or 33.88%.

Please note this is just me playing around with some hypothetical figures to see if I can figure it out - it isn't something I intend doing.

·
Registered
63 Posts
Correct

Assuming temperatures remain constant and not quibbling over the odd decimal point rounding error your logic and conclusions are correct
FB

·
Registered
258 Posts
Assuming temperatures remain constant and not quibbling over the odd decimal point rounding error your logic and conclusions are correct
FB
Agreed now do it again starting with a 100 cu foot cylinder with 300 bar rating filled with Eanx 60 decanting into a 12 litre 210 bar rated cylinder that starts with 40 bar of Eanx 32 in it and a 15 litre 232 bar rated cylinder that starts with 60 bar of Eanx 36 in it. Just to make it interesting when you have finished I want all the cylinders to be full with a mix of Eanx 34. You will be charged 10x market price for any extra O2 you waste by bleeding off.

Little Fcukers wouldn't get a 100% Gcse pass rate if I set the questions I'll tell yer:D :D :D :D :D :D

·
Registered
3,569 Posts