YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Imported post

Does anyone have a suggestion on a dive computer, easily available and supported in the UK, which will manage preprogramming with two or more gas mixtures, i.e. 21% to 50% bottom and 21% to 99% for deco, switching automatically at the set deco depth.

the Cochran Commander appeals, but I am concerned about availability and support.

·
Grumbler-chief in Residence
1,969 Posts
Imported post

Hi,

Not that switches automatically, but the Suunto Vytec will give three gasses with switching

Andrew

·
Finless: You couldn't invent him...
23,946 Posts
Imported post

I have been using the Cochran Commander for a few years now and like it very much.

Gripes :- The back light is a bit dim IMO but just OK (apparently it is a design issue to save battery power) & reprogramming with out a PC is a pain. If you break contact while scrolling through all options to lock in the new settings you have to start from scratch.

Maybe these things are diff on newer models.

I have always had a next day response from Cochran (by e mail) when I have contacted them. They replaced a broken wrist strap FOC + I have ordered bits (like screen guards) and they arrived within 5 days.

One last thing - you will get the piss taken cos it seems popular to do so with Cochrans for some reason.

·
A short fat well off crap cave diver. Likes wrecks
15,343 Posts
Imported post

<font color='#000F22'>Sunnto Vitec can be programed for three gas diving (even allowing for helium) down to 55m. After that your on gauge mode or you need a VR3.

It works very well but you need to use a laptop or PC to plan your dive because the computer will show deco frov the gas your on. So if your at 50m on 23/20 it will show say 50mins deco then you ascend to 21m and switch to 50% and it sudenly drops to 30mins deco then you ascend to 6 and switch to 80% and it suddenly drops to 15min deco.