YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Finless: You couldn't invent him...
23,946 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Having read the article in Diver by Mark Ellyatt called "Bubbles Gone Bad" about the various types of deco softwares that are available with the wildly varying results depending the different methods used (GF, bubble models etc) made me think, again, about what to believe. I have little knowledge on the subject and I don't do major deco (max 30 mins) so I tend to go by what other people use and, more to the point, I'm not really interested in learning how to understand the physics of deco, I just want something that works.

Primarily, I go by what my dive computer tells me (Cochran sae on 9 mtrs per minute max ascent rate and 10% conservatism) and I haven't been bent yet (includes one 60 mtr dive and a few to 50 mtrs and mainly in the 30 to 40 mtr range) .......... or, at least, not so I've noticed?

Somebody gave me a copy of a well known deco product which I have used to run my backup times in case of computer failure.

Anyway, I had a look at Prolanner and it is over £100 + VAT:-

Price:
£104.23 ex. VAT
£122.47 inc. VAT
Proplanner was the first commercially available dive planning software for the recreational and technical dive market. It is used by thousands of divers all over the world to plan and execute their dives. The Pro Planner software now comes in a single version that covers Open and Closed Circuit users and all gas variations.

- this seems slightly OTT, not in terms of 'my life' but as a product. Is this fair or am I being over parsimonious?

Anyhow, any recommendations on what software to use for my type of diving (no He yet).

·
23,946 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Which issue is his article in??

I personally like

NAUTILUSDIVEPLANNER.COM

Easy to use, constantly being updated and features added, prints great tables in various formats, easy to set up and also has a string of new features being added within the next few months.