YD Scuba Diving Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Technical Dive Instructor
384 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Dear colleagues.

I am a TDI Instructor and myself not (yet?) GUE certified. I dive with a lot of tech divers from all over the world, coming from all sorts of training agencies, and therefore have to accommodate for a lot of different procedures.

With DIR becoming more and more popular and widespread, I am currently bringing myself up to date with their procedures. My own dive gear has been almost hogarthian for years (because it makes sense!), and I will probably take my own GUE courses in the future (time allowing), but for now I just have a few questions about DIR procedures regaring hypoxic mixes and travel gasses, as I could not find straight answers on the web:

Which travel mix is considered a DIR standard gas?

Is the EAN50 used to travel at the beginning of the dive, if back gas becomes normoxic after a few metres, and the gas volume used is considered in the gas planning?

What are the general DIR procedures regarding the travel gas?

Thanks, and dive safely!
Scubademon

·
aka Chimp 1 or Mavis...
10,108 Posts
Hypoxic mixes are 15/55 or 10/70.

15/55 I would use 50% to get to 6m and change.

10/70 (I haven't done) but would probably use deep deco to 6m as 50% bottle would be leash clipped.

Regards

·
384 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks, Gareth, for the swift reply!

Okay, then it IS legit to touch the 50 to travel, very good :) It makes sense to use a deeper deco gas, if the tank is leash cliped in the beginning of the dive.