YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Just not enough dive time.
9,135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I dont wish to slag off another diver and God knows I am not that experienced but a new thread has opened on Handbag.net where a newbie (23 dives) Bsac Club diver wants to know if its OK to strap-on another cylinder to his BCD and dive twinned up? Am I being over protective or does it seem that he's running before walking?

·
Registered
947 Posts
Imported post

Looks like he needs setting straight on a few things.

(Edited by Mark at 12:46 pm on Feb. 21, 2003)

·
Registered
3,914 Posts
Imported post

I trained a Greek lad to dive a couple of years ago, he hadn't even done any OW training dives before he was asking about trimix! FFS

·
Registered
202 Posts
Imported post

No Matt, I don't think you are, i thought it was way too quick myself. I've done around 450 dives and I'm only thinking about twins now (with LIDs coming up and a trip to Portland after that) and it will no doubt be a fairly steep learning curve again.

Yo have to question a lot of peoples motives for twinning/tech style diving - it looks and sound great but you have to understand that yes there are safety benefits but it's also easier to get yourself in world of crap due to the extended ranges and run times the gear will give you.

At 23 dives I wouldn't be anywhere near twins and I think a lot of this type of attitude is brought on by the type of talk we've all seen recently, esp on the other side where it seems just about anyone is a tech king. If a posting asks about whether, for example a fin is good then it get a handful of replies. Post about the length of your studding for your backplate however and the world and his wife comes out the woodwork. Same if anyone asks about what BC is good - get some wings is invariably said.

Just get on and do the simple stuff first and stop trying to run before you can walk

Hmmm - thats my rant over I'm going to lunch now ! :soapbox: