YD Scuba Diving Forums banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
A short fat well off crap cave diver. Likes wrecks
15,343 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well i have just been notified i have passed the exam for the HIP Home Inspector.

You wouldn't think i d be so amazed because after all I have been surveying buildings for 15 years or more but It was by far the hardest exam i have ever sat. I could not believe that they would go from asking the date in which X building regulation was enforced to asking the spacing for anchor points for fitted windows???

Then they show you a photo of a prefab building and ask you who made it please identify and date the boiler and then identify the tree outside from a black and white sketch of a leaf, grade the cracking to the external brickwork, then on to questions on electrics and drainage....???

Some of the subject matter was so specialized i couldn't see how you would know unless you were a roofer, plumber etc. Under normal conditions id just refer the client to get an expert in.

Thats one major league broad church of surveying. Its maybe the sort of thing id expect a chartered surveyor to be able to do but even then it was a bit much to ask him to know when rubber or lead sheathing were used on electrical cables. I know its no good do i really need to be able to bloody date it???

I walked out of the exam hall thinking I had just blown 4.5K on training

But I have passed???? I am stunned, Pass/fail mark was 70% i don't know what i got but I reckon 70.00001% is a damed good guess either that or they got my candidate number wrong :D

I am a very very happy person.

I am sure no one needed to read this but I am so excited I felt compelled to write it, so please forgive the self indulgence.

ATB

Mark Chase

·
Spider Crabs can just f*ck off
16,005 Posts
Congratulations, it's lovely that you're so obviously chuffed to bits! :)

Reactions: Mark Chase

·
Is fully Mod 1'd up
878 Posts
Well done!!