YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
5,966 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Imported post

<font color='#0000FF'>Next Saturday will be my first Freshwater dive. It's a submerged village in a reservoir which is at around 300m above sea level. The water temp will be 8ºc-10'ºc. Have a couple questions:

» Roughly how much weight I should remove from my belt? I usually carry 8kg on saltwater.
» Should I be concerned of freeflows or the water is warm enough for this not to happen. I have Oceanic Alpha Octo + OmegaII.
» At 300m, does this make it an attitude dive? I'll read the Cobra manual later but anyway I will doubt very much be diving to the limits.
» Am I damn stupid to do this dive with an 5+5mm wet suit
? I've done dives at 11ºc with no problems with cold so this time I may take an 'shark' undersuit below the wet and a warm thermos flask. The club offered a dry suit but as I've never used one before I refuse to use it for this dive.

·
Small, yet perfectly formed...
3,299 Posts
Imported post

[b said:
Quote[/b] (Chris Guimaraens @ Feb. 02 2004,16:03)]The water temp will be 8ºc-10'ºc.
?
No you are insane...

·
"hardly ever here"
799 Posts
Imported post

<font color='#000080'>
[b said:
Quote[/b] ]» Roughly how much weight I should remove from my belt? I usually carry 8kg on saltwater.
as a rule of thumb, with normal kit, i'd remove about 4lb (~2kg)

[b said:
Quote[/b] ]» At 300m, does this make it an attitude dive? I'll read the Cobra manual later but anyway I will doubt very much be diving to the limits.
your computer should automatially detect altitude and compensate accordingly... i think - i know my aladin does anyway

[b said:
Quote[/b] ]» Am I damn stupid to do this dive with an 5+5mm wet suit
yes! 8 degrees is pretty cold. reckon you'll manage 20 mins max  

·
Registered
330 Posts
Imported post