YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking to get my first camera and can get the F80 for £250. F550 is around £321. both include all the housing

Are there any major differences that make the extra money worthwhile? Or are there any other cameras i should be looking at instead (£321 is around my max)

Complete novice with photography however im a nerd so whichever camera i end up getting ill be reading loads into it once i get it :p

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Been looking around a bit more, and seems S95 is a popular choice. £199 on amazong and housing for it for £175.

Seems the price is creeping up -_- Problem is i don't want to spend £250 on an F80 if in 12 months ill wish id spent a bit more and bought an S95 instead.

·
Weasily recognised or stoatily different?
1,130 Posts
We've just got the s95, and whilst we haven't got i wet yet, as a camera it does appear to be quite splendid.

Sent from my GT-I9000 using Tapatalk 2

·
Sort of member - perhaps, possibly, maybe
3,276 Posts
Been looking around a bit more, and seems S95 is a popular choice. £199 on amazong and housing for it for £175.
I really would go this route if I were you.

The F80 is, I believe, well and truly discontinued whereas the F550 has:

• A zoom of which you might (just) be able to utilise the 24 to 72mm end (35mm equivalent) underwater. Above water 15x would mostly require a tripod.
• Too many pixels (in my book).
• No raw (preferably) or Manual White Balance. "Underwater mode" quite simply does not cut it.

After that I gave up.

The S95 is an excellent underwater "starter" camera but you realise, don't you, that it's been replaced by the S100? Having said that it's been in great demand ever since its discontinuance, looks like I'm not the only one to consider it fairly exceptional.

·
Registered
284 Posts
the S95 was my choice, also does good Video,