YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
aka Rich.
166 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Imported post

I'm in the process of buying a full set of kit for diving in the UK. I'm probably going to be looking at around £1200 - £1500 for the stuff I've picked out.

I emailed a number of online Scuba stores asking what discount they'd offer if I bought all the gear from them. I was a bit surprised by the response :-

Robin Hood Watersports - Politely referred me to their website prices.

Divers Warehouse - No reply after a week.

Go-Dive (aka www.divebox.co.uk) - Sent me an email saying all prices are on the website let us know when your ready to buy and then we'll talk discount. The tone of the email was very much "don't waste our time".

I'm new to buying scuba gear, but if I was spending this much money on any other products I'd expect to get some kind of discount for buying all at one store.

Am I say the wrong things ? using the wrong approach ? are prices so cheap Online that you can't get any further discount ? Any advice would be much appreciated.

·
Gone...and probably best forgotten
1,403 Posts
Imported post

my advice?  call me and we'll go together to the stores you mentioned and see what we can haggle.  I have a very good relationship with roho and divers warehouse.

07779 834829

·
Street Cleansing Operative
4,427 Posts
Imported post

<font color='#000080'>Andy,

A closer relationship with the shops than you have with your SMB, then?

(Couldn't resist it! - Good day's diving, thanks again).

Mark.

·
Gone...and probably best forgotten
1,403 Posts
Imported post

a good smb is like a boomerang.  no matter how you try to lose it it always comes back!!

·
Registered
18,557 Posts
Imported post

Richard