YD Scuba Diving Forums banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Snap Happy
2,802 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Imported post

Hi all,

after reading many of Bren's posts on Divernet recommending this place I decided to take a look and like what I see.  I'll definitely be coming here more often.

I'm a PADI AOW with less than 30 dives (Turkey and UK - mainly Stoney) but keen to dive at any opportunity - I've spent a lot on kit and it's not getting wet enough!  I'm based in Yorkshire but work on the Wirral and would really like to start diving around the UK coast.

Being a newbie I don't really feel confident with somebody with equal experience unless on an 'easy' dive but really want to improve my diving skills.  Seriously thinking about joining about a BSAC branch to help build the experience I'm after, but honestly I'm not really a club person.

So any help / advice from divers /willing buddies keen to pass on their experience would be most welcome - but most important is getting under water with a fun group of people.

BTW agency/sex/age/creed etc etc not important I just wanna learn and dive.  Of course beer curry etc v Important!

Cheers all and if you've got this far thanks for reading.

Tim

ps. Every week on my trek across the hills on the M62 I pass Scammenden(??) Water - It looks interesting - is it divable?

·
Premium Member
5,739 Posts
Imported post

Welcome aboard Tim - Scammonden IS diveable (in theory) but it is a SHIT dive. All the surrounding hills are moorland so the rain water runoff into the dam is very high in peat content. When I dived it, we used a 'jon-line' to keep buddy pairs together. I couldn't see my buddy, his torch, my torch or my guages so not worth the effort.

As for gaining experience, get yerself on one of our regular meets or suggest one yourself. You can dive with whoever you want to and gain experience that way. Thats how we all do it anyway!!

Regards

·
Registered
12,240 Posts
Imported post

Hey Tim,