YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
964 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Imported post

I have some time on my hands and I'm looking at taking my Rescue & Divemaster courses in Sharm along with a few weeks internship.
I'll also have time to take the Instructor Development Course.
The question is, should I take the instructor course straight after DM?  I figure it will be easier with the Rescue & DM courses still fresh.

Any other advice or tips would be appreciated.

Cheers.

·
Registered
377 Posts
Imported post

I crossed over from BSAC inst to PADI Inst at ProDive in Fort Lauderdale, after seeing other course members I would really advise you to go & do some DM work and get a fair bit of experiance under your belt. There is nothing to beat building up your own experiance of time underwater, before teaching complete beginners how to dive.

If you would like any further advise, contact me via my PM.

Chris

·
Registered
3,914 Posts
Imported post

Admittedly I'm a BSAC Ins, not PADI but I don't think that makes any difference, I agree with Chris that you'd be best racking up plenty of DM'ing experience before trying your hand at Instructing, once you start down the DM (or DL for BSAC-ers) route it changes the way you dive  (or at least it should do!). The day you get your first "problem" will bring this home to you big style  

Chee-az
Steve

·
Not as tall in real life
4,059 Posts
Imported post

John,

I am sure you can do your Rescue Diver, DM and IDC is a very short space of time and I am sure that if you put the effort in you will gain your ticket.

But will this make you a good instructor capable of dealing with any problems ?