• 30+

Votes: 0 0.0%
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
"Three sheds"
12,688 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Imported post

When I started diving I was a VERY heavy breather. Looking back through my log books, although my SAC has fallen significantly, it still quite high. My lowest SAC last year was 22 litres / min. The highest was around 27 l/m.

So am I freak of nature? Or are there any other heavy breathers out there.

Laters,
   Janos

PS -  I've been diving for about 4 years, but only started diving in the UK 2 years ago. I've done about 150 dives, of which about 70 were in the UK. Although I hope my SAC will continue to drop I think it's pretty much bottomed out.

·
old time
6,658 Posts
Imported post

<font color='#0000FF'>When i first started it was 15- 20, but now after 20 years of smoking , i've got it around to 8,,,,,,,

I do all my scuba dives planned on 8

But being a commie for years ,,, i got used to sucking air as it's unlimited

·
Registered
179 Posts
Imported post

Its up and down like a yoyo. Some days I get about 11-12 other days 18-19 I think the average is about 14.

·
Liberal Lefty
1,694 Posts
Imported post

When I started diving my SAC was around 25.ltr a minute.  It's come down gradually as I've done more diving and sits around 18ltr / min depnding on the dive - more for cold & exercise, less when warm water diving.  Fitness level affects your SAC as does smoking  -if you smoke cut down, and if you don't already, try jogging or other aerobic exercise.  You're SAC should drop noticably

·
Just not enough dive time.
9,135 Posts
Imported post