YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Imported post

HI ALL
JUST HOOKED ONTO THIS FORUM. I AM A NEWBIE TO THE FORUM AND TO DIVING. I DID MY O/W WHILST IN GRENADA IN JULY HAVING DONE A FEW DIVES IN THE CARIBBEAN ON PREVIOUS HOLIDAYS. I COULD NOT KEEP DOING RESORT COURSES, SO HAD TO BITE THE BULLET AND GET A BASIC QUALIFICATION WHILST OUT THERE. THE CARIBBEAN IS A LOVELY PLACE TO LEARN TO DIVE,BUT IT DID NOT PREPARE ME FOR CAPERNWRAY, ESPECIALLY DIVING IN A DRY SUIT MADE FOR A 6,4" FELLA ME BEING A SHORT **** 5,9". IT REALLY IS FUN GETTING THE AIR OUT FROM THE FEET AREA OF A DRY SUIT AS IT PUSHES YOUR FINS OFF YOUR FEET. THAT LITTLE EXPERIENCE CAUSED ME TO SPEND A FEW QUID AND INVEST IN MY OWN SUIT. I SHOULD RECEIVE THE SUIT IN THE NEXT WEEK OR SO AND WILL BE LOOKING TO SEE WHERE I WILL GO AND WHAT SUPERVISION/TRAINING TO UNDERTAKE TO CONVERT TO DRY SUIT DIVING SAFELY.
THIS IS OBVIOUSLY THE WRONG TIME OF YEAR TO START GETTING USED TO COOLER WATER DIVING, I GUESS CAPERNWRAY OR STONEY COVE ARE THE BEST OPTIONS ? ANY SUGGESTIONS OR ADVICE.
I LIVE BEVERLEY IN EAST YORKSHIRE BUT AM A NATIVE OF NEWCASTLE BUT LEFT THERE IN 1978 AND DONT GET UP THAT WAY VERY OFTEN. I AM LOOKING FORWARD TO EXPERIENCING
MANY OF THE DIVING SITES AROUND THE UK BUT CANT GET NEXT YEARS HOLIDAY TO ST LUCIA OUT OF MY MIND,I WORRY THAT I AM GOING SOFT AND WILL REMAIN AT HEART A WARM WATER DIVER, MAYBE YORKSHIRE DIVERS CAN HELP WITH THAT ONE.

LOOK FORWARD TO ANY CONTACTS,CHAT AND ADVICE.

REGARDS

MARTIN MOORE

·
Registered
1,786 Posts
Imported post

Hiya Martin

Welcome to the board mate... first things first though, typing in capitals is considered bad practise and equates to SHOUTING!!!! So hit the caps lock and type away mate, ask any questions you feel fit and please feel free to get involved in any conversations debates etc.