YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Imported post

<font color='#728FCE'>Hi!

I've been reading the boards for the last couple of months and have finally taken the plunge to become a YD!

I'm relatively new to diving - completed my PADI OW last October at the NDC Chepstow and my PADI AOW January this year in the Red Sea. I'm still tring to complete my BSAC Ocean Diver through my local club (my snorkelling skills have improved no end though!).

Have recently been introduced to the pike at Stoney but still waiting for them to turn the water heating on!!

Will be after lots of advice - possibly going for twin sevens, manifolded or not, but then that's another thread!

Sian

·
Part of the 'Phoenix Programme'
1,112 Posts
Imported post

Welcome to the forum, Twinset :))

moray

·
Snap Happy
2,802 Posts
Imported post

Hi Twinset and welcome to the last bastion of wisdom and sanity on the internet.

Whats that you say, this is YD?   Shit.

Ahem,  Hi Twinset - fear ye all who enter here....

So, about that ocean diver course; if you're PADI AOW you should cross-over directly to OD without having to re-qualify.  Your DO should just able to give you a SALT certificate and away you go.  I know cos I did this myself - I'd have a word if I were you.  You should be able to start straight on the Sports Diver course.

Anyway, have fun here.

Tim

·
Registered
12,240 Posts
Imported post

[b said:
Quote[/b] (Twinset & Pearls @ Mar. 05 2004,20:26)]Will be after lots of advice - possibly going for twin sevens, manifolded or not, but then that's another thread!

Sian
Hey Sian,

Welcome to YD!

We employ an 'ask what you like' methodology here - the daftest question is the one you didn't ask!

Where the twin sevens are concerned, all I'd say is go for what feels comfortable for you - twin sevens seem to be very popular amongst lady YD'ers, so you'll be in good company and can get answers and info off a ruck of divers off here.