YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 108 Posts

·
Swims with More Seals
2,037 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For the week before our intended departure but Steve (Dry Suit Diver) and I were bouncing off the walls. He drove from London to mine (Leeds) on Thrusday afternoon with an intended "stupid oclock start" on Friday morning.

5.15 am we set off, Steve drove the first leg and I slept til Edinburgh!!! One McD's breakfast later and I drove the next leg to Inverness. The trip was scheduled around LPG stations and I think we got it pretty bang on. However, in Inverness the "TomTom" lady got it completely wrong and instead of sending us to an LPG station she sent us to the BP depot - they were unwill to sell us a top up of gas but did give us directions to a "proper" station!!!!

We arrived at Scrabster with plenty of time to spare which was good - as complete novices we had no idea what to do with teh car, kit or our selves. We arranged to go across as foot passengers on the Friday night and spend an extra night on board, before starting the diving on the sunday.

Shed on Wheels Number 7 (hence forth known as shed 7) was packed with all our kit and we made our way to the ferry. Steve and I (being slightly paranoid!!!) stood on the deck to make sure the correct shed went on!!!!

At the other side Shed 7 came off, but as we were a day early - it was dark - and the tide was out, the prospect of carrying full kit down a ladder was not inviting!!! Fortunately, the harbourmaster, let us lock out kit in his office ad we just took basics on board for the night.

We met up with a fellow diver who was also an "early bird" we were shown around and bedded down for our first night on board the Karin.