YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Jonah
7,366 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Imported post

OK, not sure if this is really the right section for this question but I couldn't see anywhere better.

When I started learning to dive, I was taught to do ascents where the body position was pretty much vertical. We were told not to use the BCD as an elevator (i.e. inflating it to rise up), but to slowly fin upwards while dumping air when necessary to maintain neutral buoyancy. OK, I can see the logic in that, so that's how I did my ascents.

However, since joining YD I've been exposed to a lot of divers doing things in different ways. I've noticed that some people - who appear to know what they're doing - tend to do horizontal ascents. OK, I can see the logic in that; I can see why it might be better than a vertical ascent from a decompression perspective.

So, I've been trying that on my last few dives. I've had varying degrees of success depending on the conditions - my current style could probably be described as a 'diagonal ascent'
  It seems much easier when ascending on a line than doing a free ascent. The main problem I've got is that I don't actually know what I should be doing in order to ascend horizontally.

So my question is: what are the mechanics of horizontal ascents? Do you

(1) use your wing/bcd/suit to lift you, OR
(2) use your wing/bcd/suit to remain neutral, and ascend through breath control?

I suspect that (2) is the answer, and I've actually got it to work (once) in the swimming pool, but if I should actually be doing (1) then now would be a good time to find out!

Thanks for any advice,
Tom

·
Just not enough dive time.
9,135 Posts
Imported post