YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Imported post

<font color='#0000FF'>How old was you when you first learned to dive?
I was 14 and i still am!

·
Shipwrecked & Comatose, drinking fresh mango juice
2,614 Posts
Imported post

<font color='#810541'>32 when I started ........ still learning (I hope)

·
A short fat well off crap cave diver. Likes wrecks
15,343 Posts
Imported post

Free diving 9
Snorkle & Mask diving 11
Muff diving 17
Scuba diving 25

I was a late developer  

MArk Chase

·
Registered
93 Posts
Imported post

I was 17/18, which looking back I am glad I didn't discover diving until then. I was far too immature at 14 to do what I was doing at 17, though I don't know what the limits on Kids' diving is.

Chris

·
Registered
2,314 Posts
Imported post

I got my OW cert one month before my 50th birthday!!!

·
Membership Cancelled
980 Posts
Imported post

[b said:
Quote[/b] (Tibbs @ Dec. 17 2003,18:07)]I was 17/18, which looking back I am glad I didn't discover diving until then. I was far too immature at 14 to do what I was doing at 17, though I don't know what the limits on Kids' diving is.

Chris
<font color='#8D38C9'>17 too.  My parents weren't divers - my mum can't swim and my dad has ear trouble.  Had to wait until I was old enough to drive myself around.  Had snorkelled since I was 7 though thanks to a chap we met on a family holiday who was a diver.

There have been plenty of discussions on Internet forums elsewhere (e.g. Scubaboard) about how old one should be to dive - its not just pschological maturity but also physical development etc. etc.  Slightly off topic, the CDG has a lower limit of 18 for legal reasons.

Duncan

·
Founder Member of the 'Viet Taff'
1,523 Posts
Imported post