YD Scuba Diving Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone done the INON Level 1 Underwater Photography course?

I've recently bought a Canon S100 with Canon housing to replace my flooded Olympus (it was ancient anyway). I've got a trip coming up at Easter, and while I usually get some pictures that I'm happy with, they're tending to be all quite the same now. I've seen that the guys that run the INON course (Ocean Optics) have had some very positive recommendations on here, but the course seems quite expensive and it says it's for beginners. I've done quite a bit of photography with my Olympus, so I'm not a total beginner; but I've never done a course and have never used any accessories, so could probably do with going back to basics.

What do you think?

·
Registered
4,434 Posts
Not done it myself but know a few that have in Dahab. You could PM Steve Warren on here - he'd certainly be able to tell you about it :)

·
Registered
1,162 Posts
I did the course a couple of weeks ago, as far as I'm concerned it was money well spent. In fact, as it was 09:00 to 23:00, with only a couple of 5 minute breaks, it was more like 2 days training for the price of one.

I've been using a digital compact under water for several years now, but haven't had much experience with a strobe, and never used wet lenses, so wanted to get a basic handle on them. This seemed like the ideal course.

It's hard to give a proper summary of the course as there was so much subject matter, but looking at my notes it covers things like properties of light, light and water, camera basics, controlling exposure, colour temperature, white balance, filters, restoring colour, using flash, and lenses. That's just a bit of the theory, there are also a couple of pools sessions, followed by critique. I'd honestly say, there wasn't one moment when I wasn't learning something, or having my memory refreshed on things I'd forgotten.