YD Scuba Diving Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Dedicated Lurker
934 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm rather new to this photography bit and have a fuji f30. This is just a few pics - can't wait to get more practice.

We were diving from the Madog hardboat and had a cracking weekend. Unfortunately, the wind blew up and stirred up the visibility and made the choice of dive sites very limited. I didn't take my camera in for the first two dives as I thought the poor visibility would make it pointless. However, a diver on the boat showed me the macro pics that he had obtained so I tried it out on the third and last dive. I wish now I had taken it in on the first two dives as well.

It appears that I had the camera on the wrong setting and it is only by virtue of my dive buddy who illuminated the subject with her dive torch that I got any at all. Next time, I shall use my umbilical hid light to illuminate the subject and not use the underwater/macro mode - which disabled the flash.

Lyv

·
Registered
4,039 Posts
Some really nice shots there, I think by using the torch (and your buddy) would give better results than just the inbuilt flash (less chance of back scatter).
As Helen said in the other thread, in macro mode (the little flower icon) you will probably have to force the flash to fire (the :lightning: icon (minus the clouds of course)).

Where did you sail from? Was it solely a diving trip? Reason I'm asking is I can bloody see the IOM on a clear day from the seafront here. So near, yet so far! :angry:

Anyway, nice pics, get practicing, and keep hold of that buddy! Some really good effects with that torch.

·
Dedicated Lurker
934 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·

·
Registered
37 Posts
Hello Lyvia,

I'd be the other diver with the camera :)

I don't often check up on YD, but I did today and an IoM thread caught my eye..

Those photos look good, there is a real sense of 'frozen movement' to a couple of them.