YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
413 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Imported post

I'm new to dry suit diving, well I've done a few but I'm still learning some of the finer points and i wondered if you wouldn't mind giving me some pointers..

I've made a few adjustments to my kit recently and coupled with a dry suit it's taking some getting used to...

Normally, I dive a single 15 faber steel (22kg full, 18 kg empty, if I remember well) with my wing...I have added a 3l pony (luxfer ali) and dry suit. My wing has excessive lift for a single, 65/70lbs lift (zeagle).

I've moved my inflator hose from under my velcro shoulder strap as it was causing a U and needed me to twist on to my right side to fully dump air. I now have it clipped to a retracting chord off my left 45deg d-ring..same d ring my pony neck clips off on....I have no problems with roll as I have my torch and battery on the right to counter...even if I didn't the pony is pretty much neutral so that's not an issue.

The retracing chord is a new idea for the dump hose...previously I had it clipped off to my console with compass. I've now added a 2 hose cover and it's with my dry suit inflator.

I tried 0.5kg ankle weights on the last dive which did help a great deal...but I've got 1kg weights to try tomorrow....

My concerns/questions are:

1. Dry suit for buoyancy control..the usual issue...air in feet....ankle weights will help.....does anyone manage without. Heavy rubber fins..Biofin or scubapro...anyone know the weights of each? (and websites to view).

2. Console and dry suit inflator hose together...the console needs pulling through to read...it hangs down and I'm not one for dangly bits...it's easy to find by feel but...suggestions???