YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Imported post

I'm a bit of a newbie - being not long qualified (but logged 70 dives) and have been looking to move from a 15l and pony to a twinset - primarily because I dont like the unbalanced feeling that I get from them.

I have been offered twin 7l 300bar MDE manifolded twins with SDS bands plus a 45lb lift OMS wing with stainless steel backplate - for £500.

Is this a good deal?  My thoughts were that if I didnt like the wing, then I could split the kit, keep the twins and sell the wings.

I've also been offer Apex TX40 valves (DIN) as well - do these have to be specifically for 300 bar cylinders?  If the valves offered are only for 200bar cylinders, is there an easy/cheap way to convert them to 300bar.

Any thoughts or comments would be hugely appreciated

·
Registered
1,786 Posts
Imported post

Hi Sam

The rig you describe should be a good setup and should see you well into the future unless you wish to go deeper for longer where upon a bigger set of cylinders may be required, but for now you'll have more gas than your original 15ltr and enjoy the full redundancy of running manifolded twins.

From some of the deals I've seen floating around just recently I wouldn't say that you were getting a great price at £500 I'd personally want them a bit cheaper.

There's a guy on here selling a Diverite Classic wing and BP for £150 and you can pick up twinsets for around the £225-£250 all day long so I'd haggle the price If I were you.

The TX40's will go straight onto the cylinders no problem, the fact that your cylinders are 300 bar will mean they have a deeper thread on the pillar valve (seven threads instead of five I believe) but that won't cause any issues with the TX's