YD Scuba Diving Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Charter Boat Skipper, Salvage Diver & YBOD abuser
1,605 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Imported post

Have any fellow YDers undergone laser treatment for short-sight? I'm pissed-off with wearing specs, I'm a plumber and they get scratched to f*** in no time. I just wondered what the implications were as to time-out from diving, side effects encountered whilst diving etc
anyone any info?
                  Terry

·
Registered
2 Posts
Imported post

My wife had the LASEC surgery about 2 years ago and said it was seriously like a miracle for her. No implications for diving once the corneal flap has properly healed (which I believe can take 12 months). In the meantime you just have to be extra careful not to bump the cornea. Wear glasses at home fot a week or so if you have small kids who might poke you in the eye!

(Edited by Richard Harris at 3:20 pm on Jan. 26, 2003)

·
Registered
32 Posts
Imported post

Hi there Terry.

I am not going to to give you a load of "this can happen" stories, but I suggest that you check out www.lasikdisaster.com

As a side note between myself and Fee we do not know of any optometrists or doctors (including opthalmologists) that have elected to have this surgery, and we do have close friends and colleagues with a range of refractive errors from about +6.00 through to about -9.00

If you do choose to go ahead with this sugery pop down to your local LASIK clinic for a free assesment and ask the surgeon if he/she will be performiing the surgery and if they or anybody in the clinic has been zapped.

The very best of luck to you if you do choose to have this surgery.

Ian Daly

·
Banned
1,793 Posts
Imported post

Mate of mine had it done about six years ago, along with most of his family.  Reckons it was fantastic.  The only side effect was a slight starring at night, when looking at lights (i.e. a slight blurry haze around the bright points).