YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi,
Thanks for adding me to your group. I'm relatively new to the game (23 chilly dives all at Stoney Cove so far) at the tender age of 57 and looking forward to getting some salt water action soon. I did my Open Water at Stoney Cove and my AOWD and Dry Suit specialty with Northampton Divers (also at Stoney Cove).

Also, I thought I'd share a DIY diving gear project that recently worked out rather well...

https://www.facebook.com/notes/james-solomon/pony-taming-for-beginners/1553339218317338

Cheers.

·
deeply confused
1,402 Posts
Welcome to diving mate. I took it up in 2005 at the age of 48 and I've enjoyed a lot of diving at Stoney. What I learned at Stoney enabled me to dive successfully up at Scapa and I've now racked up about 10 trips, with another planned for October.

Never regretted a penny spent, and there have been a few. Dabbled with SCR and CCR (I have a Drager sitting in the van as we speak) but I'm probably most comfortable on OC, preferably twin 12s

Enjoy every dive, I always have, even the ones that went a bit south!!

·
deeply confused
1,402 Posts
You might want to consider doing the enriched air certificate and then plan for the rescue diver cert, most of the others are surplus to requirements apart from possibly Wreck Diver.

·
Registered
46 Posts
terryjh58,
also remember that in UK "salt waters" no-one checks your certificates ^^
Only Nitrox/Tx cards are required by most of filling stations due to H&S regulations...

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks! That's what my dive buddy has been telling me. I imagine I need a few more dives under my belt first?

·
deeply confused
1,402 Posts