YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone have any ideas how I can make an air purity tester? Ideally for use with the Draeger test tubes so must have a variable flow rate. Also ideally must be able to test direct from compressor filling whip DIN/INT and direct from a cylinder valve...

I have a few ideas but, as great minds think alike I would like your input please!!

BTW, yes, I know I can buy one, however the cost is the slight problem. I work as a tech abroad and have been tasked to make one while back at home.

·
Nigel Hewitt
7,142 Posts
I bought this thing second hand but it's really just a first stage in a box, a needle valve, the usual ball in a tapered tube flow rate meter, a Dräger tube holder and a timer working the gas valve.
The only bit you can't get cheaply off the shelf is the tube holder but it wouldn't be too hard to fabricate as it just pinches the tube between two O-rings top and bottom.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Nigel,

Some years ago for company I was working for had the same unit I think - I am fairly sure that is one of the old Draeger units and also if I recall had around a £1000 price tag about 12years ago!

So far I have found flow meters on ebay and of course an old diaphram first stage to drop the pressure is no problem... Think it might be a trip to the workshop though to get all the necessary adapters made up.

As far as being able to connect to a compressor whip, the best method I can think of is to have made a female G 5/8 to female G 5/8 on a HP hose so the male DIN fittings on 1st stage and compressor whip will screw straight in... Similar-ish to your unit which has a female DIN (G 5/8) on a HP microbore hose coming out the back of the box... Then, fitting from the 3/8" LP port on the first stage to flow meter, then flow meter to test tube holder...