YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
C-in-C the Amphibious Contingent
1,421 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Imported post

OK, trip report.  I'm not very good at writing reports and stories, so bear with me.
I dived in Malta in March with Eric DV a YDer.  After private e-mails and some phone calls, the weeks break was arranged.  I cut out the middle man (travel agent) and booked with the airline and hotel direct.  The return flight and 7 nights DB&B cost me at that time £208.  Those who want details, PM me if you wish.  I still had to find spending money and cash for the tanks, weights and we were splitting the cost of a hire car.  Still worked out cheaply though...

Ginge (boyfriend) and I arrived at the hotel late at night, we unpacked, showered and went to bed.  We met Eric at breakfast the next morning.  I was off to the docs for a medical, passed no problem, and then to pick up the hire car.  We went back to the hotel for the dive kit, and Ginge went to arrange some trips for himself, as he doesn't dive.

We were using cylinders and weights from Strand divers; I thought they were fine. [email protected] for those interested!  We were doing shore dives, so no boats, which suited me.  Dive boats and I do not mix!  The diving was superb.  I took a dry suit, as it was like a hot summers day over there, but the water temperature was about 12 degrees C or so.  It was their winter, but to me it was hot and sunny.  The viz was about 20m+, but unfortunately there were bloody jellyfish around.  We did a variety of sites, having the car made it easier.

It was physically hard work with some sites being at the bottom of a steep slope (Ghar Lapsie!) but I was nicely toned at the end of it, so hey; I wasn't complaining!  Eric is good to dive with.  We suited ourselves; no pressure to get back into the water, nothing like that.  We took as long as we wanted for the surface interval, and dived for as long as we were able.