YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
3,714 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Mod 1 and Advanced Nitrox, PSAI, with Dennis Vessey.

Megalodon UK

Couple of points you should know to put this in perspective.

Prior to turning to the dark side I had done 130 dives, in the UK and abroad.
Padi Rescue (Bluewater diving school), TDI Nitrox (Mark Powell). No technical diving experience at all (unless a pony bottle counts )
Dived a Dolphin in Hurgarda in Jan this year and fell in love with the silence

OK so................................

The theory was fine, No problems at all. Dennis went through it all and I completed the exams. My Bouyancy was absoloutly useless on the first dive, Running APECS2 at a set point of .4 and keeping it at .7 manually then running at 1.0 at depth and keeping at 1.2 manually.

improved a bit for the secound dive. My biggest problem's were with the normal technical aspects of diving

Stage bottle, well I work in the Theatre industry and I,d never heard of a Stage bottle :teeth:

Serously, Stoney Cove, Its bloody freezing 6 Degrees in the water and its snowing topside I was struggling with the kit. But the only part of me that was cold was the area around my mouth, it was numb, doing reg changes was a right PITA, I was hitting the side of my mouth and strugling to get the bailout reg in my mouth, I really could,nt feel it , I know I,am a southern softy................
Anyway I now apprecaite what task loading is .

Den had his drill cards, and they kept coming thick and fast, Muscle memory...........Good grief I know what that is now. And thats the way it should be.

I really screwed up badly with DSMB, wizzey blob went up, line got tangled, made a right fool of myself..... Why did'nt I throw it away
Its a learning curve. a very steep one.