YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3,914 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Imported post

Seeing as Tek-talk is rapidly turning into DIR talk, thought this might be of interest to some, first the question:
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Hi all
I am a CMAS instructor in South Africa, and I have recently attended a CMAS
Advanced Nitrox course which was taught according to the DIR philosophy.

I understand the benefits and reasons for diving DIR in
deep/deco/overhead/cave/penetration dives and that ditchable weight is not
desirable.

There are, however people diving open water with single tanks and  backplates
with a one-piece webbing harness and no ditchable weight.

So my question is : What does the DIR philosophy teach about rescue and these
single tank open water divers with no ditchable weight ?
Regards
Monty

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
and the reply
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Hello,

First I am not an authority on DIR.

You could ask this question on the Quest list or go to the http://www.gue.com/
web site and check it out

This is my understanding about the equipment configuration.

The purpose of a balanced rig is to be as close to neutral as possible through out the dive. The goal is to be neutral with empty tank or tanks in order to do your last shallow deco / safety stop but still be able in the event of flotation / bladder failure to swim your rig up from depth.

If it is a self rescue of any type then adding a little air orally should not be a big deal at the surface.

If you are performing the rescue on some one else then there is one less piece of equipment to remove. You could make them buoyant with their bladder.

As it has been discussed on other list: The fastest way to remove a back plate/ one-piece harness is to use your shears ( scissors ) to cut the harness away prior to starting the rescue breathing.