YD Scuba Diving Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

· "hardly ever here"
771 Posts
Imported post

<font color='#000080'>
[b said:
Quote[/b] (Gary Jeffries @ Jan. 28 2004,08:55)]just wondering whether to get this ticket too?
well that's pretty much all it is, a ticket.

if i wanted to develop my experience in certain areas, great, i'd do so.

if i felt the best way to do that was PADI specialty courses, then i'd do it that way (although in most cases i wouldn't, i'd just dive with people who had experience in that area and learn from them)

but i wouldn't pay the extra for the PIC, just so i got a badge saying 'master scuba diver'.

it wouldn't let me actually do any more, and most people looking would probably just think "fine, she's done 5 specialties.... so?"

my opinion anyway  

· "hardly ever here"
771 Posts
Imported post

<font color='#000080'>
[b said:
Quote[/b] ]I had a diver turn up a dive centre I worked at who had learned to dive in Thailand and was an MSD with only 30 dives to her name including specialities in boat, multi-level and my own favourite reef diver.
something's wrong there then, as you need 50 logged dives for the MSD qualification.

· "hardly ever here"
771 Posts
Imported post

<font color='#000080'>i've come across the situation daz was talking about.....

while i was holidaying on a well-known malaysian resort island, i let it be known that i had a divemaster qualification, because i wanted to do a certain dive which only DMs or instructors were allowed to do.

after that, i was buddied on every dive with people less experienced than myself - although these dives were technically led by one of the school DMs, i was often left to sort out people's problems while the DM got on with the important business of navigating along the reef wall!