·
Registered
224 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Imported post

<font color='#000080'>Just to mix things up a bit lets have a discussion about
<span style='font-size:17pt;line-height:100%'>PADI v BSAC</span>

now i am both padi anb bsac trained as are a lot of you
what are the advantages/disadvantages of each organisation?

your opinios please

and lets not tutn this thread into a slangigng match

·
Registered
377 Posts
Imported post

I'm an instructor with both, to me diving is diving. It still costs you money either way, so it is up to the individual.

·
Registered
13,519 Posts
Imported post

<font color='#0000FF'>OK then Steve, I'll kick things off! Well I would have if it hadn't taken me so long to write it, I have now been beaten to it!

Firstly I also have a qualification with both agencies, BSAC Advanced and Padi DM (although I only did this as someone else wanted to do it.

If someone asked me which agency to train with I would ask them where they wanted to dive, if they want to dive both in the UK and overseas then I would advise the BSAC route, if they only want to dive on holiday then I would say PADI.

If you train with a BSAC club which we all know takes considerably longer than 5 days, but I believe you get on the whole good training from like minded people who do it because they enjoy it not because they are being paid.  When I started my training began in the January and my first openwater dive apart from Novice 1 and 2 which was sheltered water in Stoney was to be Easter in Angelsey unfortunately like so many Easters it was blown out.  So no sea for me
very disappointed, the club decided to dive Vivian and I was informed I couldn't dive.  Since then I have continued my training with BSAC, I like the club environment and will continue to dive with like minded people.