YD Scuba Diving Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Imported post

Last couple of days on the site I have been experiencing a problem moving around the Forum,  50% of the attempts I'm getting the following message,   590 Unchunk Failure
Is it a common fault, or is it my system. Appreciate any help as I'm computer illiterate....

TOG Diver
 
G

·
Imported post

Anything to help a TOG  out. Probally new software that was installed to prevent baddies entering site.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
575 Posts
Imported post

Peter
Had a problem yesterday eve but seems ok now.
I think Jay was loading something on the site yesterday.
 

·
A short fat well off crap cave diver. Likes wrecks
Joined
·
15,343 Posts
Imported post

No I have had exactly the same problem with the same error message. I switched off AOL and went to Explorer and that sorted it out. If your on AOL maby thats the problem. AOL can be a bit fussey at times.

Mark Chase
 

·
Respected Wreck-diving Author & Resident Farnes Ex
Joined
·
666 Posts
Imported post

Hi Guys

I'm having the same trouble with access but just with oping these pages. All the other websites are ok

Cheers Ron
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,314 Posts
Imported post

It works fine for me. Get a Mac!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
202 Posts
Imported post

Okay chaps

Just been online with the AOL tech guys re this problem which affects both my desktop (Windows ME + AOL V6) and laptop (Win XP + V7) and guess what - they don't really seem to have a clue. If (as I'm doing now), you enter through Internet Explorer it seems to work fine.

They did suggest trying the following though I have to say I've done it on this this machine and it make no difference - got to try it on the XP lappy though.

Deleting the AOL Adaptor
Go to
Start, Programs, AOL, System Information, Utilities and delete the adaptor. You will need to reboot and then launch AOL again. It will then create a new adaptor and you will need to reboot again.

If anyone has any result with this method or with AOL techies please share it 'cos it's winding me up now !!

Cheers
Paul

(Edited by jjflash at 11:05 pm on Feb. 15, 2003)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
575 Posts
Imported post

“Right” seem to have found a way round this problem for the moment.
I’m running AOL and have got the same prob.
So what I’m doing is. Opening AOL then minimise their home page, click on the big blue E Internet explorer and open that but through AOL. I prefer this way anyway.
Then go to http://www.seadart.net  enter their home page and on the left hand column there is a heading dive chat click on this and you are through to YD forum. It’s a long way round but it works the entire YD site.
I was going to bed an hour ago.
Cheers Bob.


(Edited by Seadart Bob at 1:19 am on Feb. 16, 2003)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
202 Posts
Imported post

Thats the same thing as I do - you could just set the defaualt homepage on IE to that of YD though if you want!
Still a PITA though

Cheers
Paul
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
575 Posts
Imported post

even better and quicker.
Thanks for that Paul
Cheers Bob

(Edited by Seadart Bob at 4:04 pm on Feb. 16, 2003)
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
1,793 Posts
Imported post

AOL is the net equivalent of PADI OW - it gets you up and running but is very basic.

IMHO, bin AOL and use one of the other non-proprietory ones.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
288 Posts
Imported post

I've had this problem with AOL since Thursday of last week - they gave me the same shite about removing AOL Adaptor but it didn't work
:redbite :banghead :sod:

I,m minimising AOL and opening IE6 - that seems to be working OK

John
 
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
Top