YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Respected Wreck-diving Author & Resident Farnes Ex
666 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Imported post

HI everyone,
Hope I can have some input to the forum in the future.
Unfortunately I have had to give up my diving fairly recently (35-years of it) due to poor health and 'general old age', however I still keep in touch with my buddies and spend my time writing books, having written a Divers Guide to the Farnes and Holy Island and two volumes of Shipwrecks of the North East Coast. Due out from Tempus Publishing in November, is Volume-1 of Shipwrecks of the East Coast. This covers most wrecks (from 1766 to 1918) which are still to be found on the seabed from Robin Hood's Bay to Skegness and out to the Outer Dowsing. Volume-2 is out around Easter.
I have extensive knowledge of the Farne Islands, above and below water, having done 3500 dives around them over 30-years, so anyone needing any help with dive-sites just needs to shout and I'll try and advise.
I miss my diving, but everything has to come to an end some day, unfortunately.

Cheers shipwreckRon (Ron Young)

·
Registered
1,786 Posts
Imported post

Welcome Ron, its really great to have someone with your wealth of experience on the board, I imagine you'll also be a source for good skippers to take a bunch of us out onto the Farnes sometime soon, I might be pestering you in the near future if thats ok.

When will your books be available? and do we get a YD member discount ;)

Best regards Ron
Dave.

·
Registered
12,240 Posts
Imported post

Hi Ron,

It is indeed a pleasure to welcome one of diving's 'Old & Bold' to our midst - and a published author in the subject too.