YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Shipwrecked & Comatose, drinking fresh mango juice
2,614 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Imported post

<font color='#000080'>I'm fairly new to this diving lark, and whilst I have bought all of the basic kit required to keep me alive, I am considering the next step with my kit configuration.  

I have subscribed to the philosophy that even when diving with a buddy, I should also be 'self sufficient' - I don't want my only hope of recovery to be someone who may be looking the other way when I become out of air, for example.

So, I've decided to get more air.  I would consider a twin set - and recognise that in the long term this would give me the best level of redundancy etc.  In the short term, cashflow being a consideration, I'm considering a pony cylinder as my bailout option.

Right, so here comes the question.  I dive with several people from my club who have pony bottles on their backs, attached to their BCD's.  This makes the BC heavier when kitting up (and recovering them into the RIB), and also means that the weight on the BC is lobsided.  I'm already lobsided enough, so I looked at other ways to sling the pony.  One guy in the club has his pony slung horizontally across his front - it means that kitting up takes a few seconds longer, and there is more to hand up to the RIB, but seems to me to be a more balanced way of doing it.  

Another alternative is to side sling it, but this would seem to have the same unbalancing effect as banding it to my main cylinder on my BC.

It'll be a while before I get the cash to buy this (cash flow being a controlled resource - my wife doesn't dive and doesn't understand the need for gadgets and kit .....) so I have time to consider my options.  Does anyone have any recommendations or warnings about particular methods?

Andy

·
Shipwrecked & Comatose, drinking fresh mango juice
2,614 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Imported post