YD Scuba Diving Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
'we are here for a good time, not a long time'
781 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking into the possibility of buying a netbook, now i have never even seen one close up yet alone used one (but i have been using laptops for the last 8+ years).

It NEEDS it to have:
Bluetooth (to connect to a Bluetooth GPS receiver, for a truck sat nav & i don't really want to use my Bluetooth dongle)
Decent battery life / cheap 12/24v charger available
Rugged/well built - it will be 'thrown' in a bag at the end of the day (will probably be in a neoprene sleeve)

It would be nice to have:
10" screen
Windows 7
Excel compatible

I will be using it mainly for the sat nav (before you suggest buying a stand alone sat nav, these are typically £400+ for a truck one - weight, height and width limits included), browsing the 'net, doing time-sheets (Excel), e-mails, running a car diagnostic software (VCDS) and uploading dives / photo's when on holiday.

Is 1GB really enough to run Windows 7 on a netbook?

I do like Dell laptops and PC's, but as i said have not seen one yet - although i am not impressed with the 'truelife' (shiny) screen on my Studio laptop, although i am sure that is something i will probably have to live with. :sad:

Ideally between £200 - £300.

Over to you.....

·
Registered
3,103 Posts
I did have one (a Dell Mini 10) for a short while. It was mostly fine, looked very nice, very portable, and could certainly do all that you wanted. It wasn't terribly fast with some things, though I was trying to run Photoshop on it so maybe I'm just a difficult customer!

Personally I wouldn't get another one with 1GB RAM - I'd want 2GB as a minimum. You could probably get away with 1GB, but I'd be much happier with the extra there when needed.

Incidentally, I got mine from the Dell Outlet, which was indistinguishable from new, with a fairly good discount.

·
Another Random Diver
273 Posts
Maybe this: