YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
6,172 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

Just had my new 1080pHD Bonica camera delivered. Looks pretty good so far considering technically it's a joey camera. But it's cheap like the budgie and comes with housing etc...
Now I've always worked with MiniDV cameras in the past, the ones that take tapes. Also I've never really bothered with digital stills cameras and as such I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to memory cards. This thing takes SD/MMC memory cards apparently and a quick search on t'interweb revealed different types!!!! Yup you heard me, there's classes 1-6 and also different speeds... What does it all mean? The manual for the camera doesn't state which speed or class of card is required. Any theories?

Ta

·
Registered
6,172 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
S'ok, just found this on their website.

How much recording time? What are the recommended SD cards?

The camera has an internal memory capable for 2 minutes of video, so external SDHC card is strongly recommended.

We suggest Kingston or San Disk brands SDHC cards, and we have tested up to 16 GB.

The recording time is about 60 min per 4GB in 1280 x 720 pixels at 60 frames per second setting.

The camera does not require specific SDHC cards, but higher speed class or cards catered for video can be helpful.

·
Registered
1,116 Posts
Whats 'joey' mean? (apart from the fact that I need to get out more .....but the nurses don't like it when I try... ;)

·
Registered
6,172 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Ummm I don't know where it comes from. Was just a phrase I heard people use as I grew up. It's kinda like wally. In this case I meant the camera doesn't have "Professional features" so it's a Wally / Joey camera, Point n click.

·
No social integrator
4,457 Posts
Class = write speed. The higher the better.

Other than that you're paying for capacity, and reputation.

Reactions: Paul Evans

·
Registered
3,714 Posts