YD Scuba Diving Forums banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Just not enough dive time.
9,135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Imported post

A full weekends diving, something I've never done before and was somewhat nervous that the old body wouldnt stand for it.

Where to start, well for us Southerners just north of London, Friday morning and onto the M1/A1(M). 5 hrs later we pulled into Beadnell having stopped off at Wallsend to have a look at the Project I've been working on for the last 2 yrs. Its a boat that we are building thats going offshore Nigeria. Technically its a boat, in reality its an oil producing facility (FPSO for those interested) and its big, damn big, as Adam said 'that would make a damn fine dive'.
Anyway the trip report, accomodation looked fine, six to a bunk house, immediately reduced to 4 as the girls didnt want to share with us, to be honest I didnt want to share with Steve either, his reputation preceded him  
. But they wouldnt let Adam and I join them so 4 blokes in no 12 it was.
In the end it was quite pleasant sharing with Steve and Anders.
John introduced me to the Swedish guys, whose names I immediately forgot, as they did mine so that was OK by me.
They all seemed friendly and big healthy chaps, none of them smoked and they are all confirmed fish-prodders, so it was staring well.
Off to the first dive via Sovereign for a fill, now whose idea was it to put a funeral directors next to a dive shop and the hearse had the number plate RIB NNNN, Adam fell about laughing at the irony of it. Quick back track and onto the pier to wait for the boat. So I've driven 320 miles in 5 hrs and now I've got 15mins to get my stuff onto a boat for a dive, hmmm!