YD Scuba Diving Forums banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
1,786 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Imported post

We've had a quite a few threads in the past and some very  recently discussing the finer points of solo diving a topic which I find very very interesting, not because I intend to throw my kit in the car and drive off to remote dives sites and dive alone, but because I've never felt comfortable with the percieved safety of the buddy system as we know and use it.

This doubt was instilled in me as a complete novice when I was taken down by various DL's who were supposed to be looking after me but who were quite often just enjoying their own dives, on one particular dive I got my first stage trapped under some steel on the wreck of the Breda, it wasn't a biggy but the clang of metal against metal and the knowledge that I couldn't move sent a shiver of fear through me and I watched wide eyed as the fins of my DL swam off into the gloom, I started to get very scared realising that a few more kicks and we were separated and I had no idea what was happening behind my head.... As I say it was nothing, I simply moved slowly down and backwards, cleared the object and then finned quickly in the direction of my supposed guide,buddy and instructor who was now out of sight.. When I caught up with him he was busy shining his torch down into a hold, he turned to point something out to me not even slightly aware that we'd just been separated or that his complete novice had just had a major sphincter loosening moment, and could for all intents and purposes still be back there all alone, stuck and having a major dicky fit...